‘Ello Penguino

*Ben walks in through door*

Ben: (in British accent) ‘Ello, little penguin.

Me: (in British accent) ‘Ello, Penguino.

Ben (my brother) and I somehow developed a habit of talking to each other in British accents and referring to one another as penguins. He actually usually calls me a panda since it’s my favorite animal, but penguins are his favorite animal. Ben and I have always been really close, which I love if it means we can talk in British accents all day ;) When he’s away at college, I NEVER speak in a British accent to anyone unless I do it on purpose. However, once Ben arrives, I automatically start getting my Harry Potter on without even thinking about it. Weird. But pretty funny.

cute-baby-penguins

[source]

Mr. Squishy Penguin–another nickname for Ben. He’s not even squishy, but we (more like I) roll with it.

So besides conversing like royal penguins, I ate a colorful lunch this afternoon:

DSC_5793 DSC_5794

Salmon and salsa over spinach + sweet potato wedges with hummus

I also decided to finally make some sort of energy bars using the prunes that have been sitting in our fridge for months and some sad, neglected dried cranberries. I looked up some recipes for homemade Larabars and energy bites to get some inspiration and ended up throwing together in the food processor:

  • 1 cup pitted prunes
  • 1/3 c. dried cranberries
  • <1 c. salted cashews
  • 3 tbsp. hemp seeds
  • 2 tbsp. chia seeds

DSC_5795 DSC_5796

They turned out quite tasty! I rolled out the mixture into a rectangle and cut it into 8 bars.

DSC_5799 DSC_5800

Then I wrapped them individually in wax paper and put them into a Ziploc bag. If you decide to try this, make sure to cut the bars with a wet knife to prevent the mixture from sticking to the knife, and note that they will feel quite oily due to the cashews.

DSC_5801 DSC_5803

These are sweet from the dried fruits and nutty from the cashews–great combo in my opinion! If you like trail mix, I think you would love these too. They are very energy dense (~195 cal/piece), but that makes them great for a workout snack or a hike when you need the energy but not the heaviness!

Moves

After fueling myself with one of the bars, I went to the gym. I’m waddling (like a penguin) today because some of my leg muscles are sore, so I took it easy on the lower body. I started with the usual 20 minutes on the elliptical and then did this workout and Julie’s 8 minute ab tabata. Good stuff!

I’m thinking about dinner now, and the kitchen is already filled with the aroma of my mom’s Thai fried bananas!

DSC_5805 DSC_5806

Wowza

Have a lovely evening!

So tell me: Do you have any quirks between you and your sibling(s)? What do you like to eat for quick energy?

 

9 thoughts on “‘Ello Penguino

  1. Pingback: WIAW: If I Played a Sport… | Daily Moves and Grooves

  2. Pingback: On Cloud Coconut {MIMM #3} | Daily Moves and Grooves

  3. Pingback: WIAW: School Day Eats | Daily Moves and Grooves

  4. Pingback: Excited for November | Daily Moves and Grooves

  5. Pingback: Birthdays, Sushi Nights, and Jack O’ Lantern Blaze {MIMM #11} | Daily Moves and Grooves

  6. Pingback: Behind the Scenes #3: Feelin’ Festive | Daily Moves and Grooves

  7. Pingback: Behind the Scenes #4: Christmas in NYC, Food Tour, and Game Night | Daily Moves and Grooves

Your comments are groovy!

